label:STRUT (UK)


A1 Aint No Stopping Us Now (Vocal) 7:03
A2 Aint No Stopping Us Now (Version) 9:05
B1 Good Times 7:25
B2 One More Time (Instrumental) 8:19
C1 Im Caught Up 7:42
C2 Argument 6:19
D1 Its My House (Special Disco Version) 7:58
D2 Its My House (Version) 7:42
E1 Bringing Out The Sunshine 6:21
E2 Reggae Music 5:57
E3 Risco Music 6:09
F1 Sitting In The Park 5:22
F2 Park Version 4:23
F3 Stopping (Version) 4:51

Strut present the first ever official compilation bringing together the complete in-demand reggae / disco singles of Risco Connection between 1979 and 1980.

Drummer Drummie Joe Isaacs had already created history as the house drummer at Studio 1 in Jamaica on countless pre-reggae classics before moving to Canada in 1968 and is credited with slowing down the fast pace of ska during the rocksteady era. With Risco Connection, Isaacs released a series of choice reggae / disco covers, from Aint No Stopping Us Now and Good Times to Im Caught Up (In A One Night Love Affair) and Its My House as limited 12 singles on his own Black Rose imprint. Arriving in Canada, we were one of the first set of musicians out of Jamaica coming here, explains Isaacs. With Risco Connection, we wanted to try something new, songs that would have a crossover between disco and the rocksteady feeling and the right lyrics. We had trouble getting them well distributed widely at the time but people still picked up on the sound.

Recorded at Glen Johansens small studio Integrated Sound in Toronto, musicians included Jamaican, US and Canadian players with Isaacs on drums and percussion, bassist Clarence Greer, guitarist Tony Campbell and keyboardist/singer Glen Ricketts. Isaacs also called on a number of great independent vocalists including Terry Hope (Its My House), Merlyn Lorna Brooks, (Caught Up), Otis Gayle and Juliette Morgan (Bringing The Sun Out and Sitting In The Park) and Tobi Lark (Good Times). The biggest hit of all the singles was Riscos dynamite cover of McFadden and Whiteheads Aint No Stopping Us Now. selling over 5,000 copies in Toronto and New York with the dub version becoming a firm favourite of David Mancuso at his famed Loft parties.

Risco Version brings together all of the vocal versions, dubs and extra tracks from the singles. Both formats feature an interview with Joe Isaacs and liner notes by journalist Angus Taylor. Audio is restored by Sean P and fully remastered and cut loud and proud by The Carvery.

Sold Out

Copyright © 2007 STRADA RECORDS All rights reserved.