label:SOUL JAZZ (UK)


A1. Devon Russell - "Move On Up"
A2. Crashers - "Flight To Jamaica"
A3. Valerie Harrison - "Fool's Paradise"
A4. Bill Campbell - "For The Love Of You"
B1. Risco Connection - "It's My House"
B2. Dave Barker - "Glow Of Love"
B3. Derrick Harriott - "Caught You In A Lie"
B4. Hortense Ellis - "Young Hearts Run Free"
C1. Ed Watson & Brass Circle - "Wanna Be Startin' Somethin'"
C2. Devon Russell - "We The People Who Are Darker Than Blue"
C3. Seventh Extension - "Reasons"
C4. Derrick Harriott - "Brown Baby"
D1. Ed Watson & Brass Circle - "Let's Groove"
D2. Pete Campbell & The Sunshine Girls - "Don't Let Love Get You Down"
D3. Webby Jay - "In The Rain"
D4. Glen Adams Affair - "Just A Groove"

Over recent years, there have been countless reissue of reggae-disco rarities and slept-on classics. Soul Jazz has, surprisingly given that they first dipped into the style 20 years ago on the now legendary Reggae Disco Hustle compilation, been surprisingly silent, so it's nice to see them joining the party in fine style. Disco Reggae Rockers is a fitting sequel to its illustrious predecessor, featuring as it does a wealth of killer covers of - and more adventurous 're-versions' inspired by - vintage soul, disco and funk tunes. The plentiful highlights include Devon Russell's inspired take on Curtis Mayfield's 'Move On Up', Risco Connection's super-sweet version of Diana Ross classic 'It's My House', Valerie Harrison's interpretation of Me'lissa Morgan's 'Fools Paradise' and Hortense Ellis re-frame of Candi Staton hit 'Young Hearts Run Free'.

Sold Out

Copyright © 2007 STRADA RECORDS All rights reserved.