SAMBA WITH YOU (2LP) -pre-order-

label:CLAREMONT 56(UK)

[[ coming soon ! price TBA ]]

A1. Jpye & E11e - "Samba With You"
A2. Jpye & E11e - "Downside Up World"
A3. Jpye, Leonidas & E11e - "Oui Non"
B1. Jpye & Renato - "Cosa Ti Va?"
B2. Jpye & Renato - "Non Ci Pensare"
B3. Jpye & Renato - "Don't Stop" (Tididam dub)
C1. Jpye & Leonidas - "Let The Record Spin"
C2. Jpye & E11e - "Samba With You" (instrumental)
C3. Jpye & E11e - "Downside Up World" (instrumental)
D1. Jpye & Renato - "Cosa Ti Va?" (dub mix)
D2. Jpye & Renato - "Non I Pensare" (Mudd dub)
D3. Jpye & Renato - "Don't Stop" (instrumental)

French multi-instrumentalist, DJ and producer Jean-Philippe Altier has yet to have his moment in the sun – as Jpye at least. While no newcomer, he's mainly spent the last few years writing and recording music as Twonk alongside good friends Leonidas, Rob Donelly and Renato Tonini. We have a feeling that the spotlight could be heading his way soon, though, thanks to his debut album on Claremont 56, a gorgeous set of deliciously summery, laidback and ear-catching Balearic pop gems that will delight all those who dig for dusty, mid-1980s European records that combine sparkling synthesizers and woozy, afternoon-fresh vocals with vintage drum machine beats, glistening guitars and warm, intoxicating bass. Fittingly, both of Jpye's regular studio buddies Leonidas and Renato Tonini both feature on a number of tracks, alongside vocalist e11e, and keys-players Michael Tainturier and Rob Donnelly. The album gets off to a stunning start via a trio of delightfully languid, life-affirming, e11e-voiced gems: °∆Samba With You', a gently Latin-tinged Balearic pop number built around shuffling beats, rising and falling synthesizer lines and bubbly bass; the breezy and blissful °∆Downside Up World', a slap-bass-sporting chunk of horizontal, mid-°∆80s Riviera pop that boasts some stunningly jazzy guitar solos; and Leonidas co-production °∆Oui Non', where squiggly TB-303 acid lines weave in and out of Pat Metheny style guitars and glassy-eyed synth sounds. Leonidas also features on another of the album's most memorable moments, °∆Let The Record Spin', where tumbling synthesizer lead-lines, synthetic vocals, echoing synth sounds, more bubbly acid lines and Renato Tonini's fluid hand percussion rumba ride a hybrid electro/dub-disco groove. Tonini becomes the headline attraction on another trio of killer cuts, where he handles lead vocals. On recent single °∆Cosa Ti Va?' and the crunchier, more-up-tempo °∆Non Ci Pensare', Tonini delivers rhythmic, spoken word verses over typically colourful and authentically °∆80s backing tracks; as a result, both tracks recall classic Italian Balearic disco cuts such as Radio Band's °∆Radio Rap' and Tullio de Piscopo's °∆Stop Bajon (Primavera)'. The quality of Tonini's sweet and emotive singing voice comes to the fore on °∆Don't Stop (Tiddidam Dub)', a drowsy, warming and glassy-eyed affair that's as tactile, groovy and dreamy as they come. The second half of the album is dedicated to DJ-friendly dub revisions and instrumental takes. It's on these that the quality of Jpye's production and arrangement comes to the fore. Highlights include a chunkier and more bass-heavy take on the album's opening song with added synthesizer flourishes and echoing electronics; the previously released °∆Dub' of °∆Cosa Ti Va?', and a fine dub-style revision of °∆Non Ci Pensare' from label boss Paul °∆Mudd' Murphy, who wisely lets Jpye's instrumentation do the talking whilst adding echoing effects to selected snippets of guitar and synthesizer.

Copyright © 2007 STRADA RECORDS All rights reserved.