A1. MLO - Birds And Flutes
A2. Pulusha - Isolation (Part Two)
A3. Space Time Continuum - Fluresence
B1. David Moufang - Sergio Leone's Wet Dream
B2. LA Synthesis - Frozen Tundra Dub
C1. Richard H. Kirk - Oneski
C2. A Positive Life - The Calling (Loved'Ub Mix)
D1. Sideral - Mare Nostrum
D2. The Primitive Painter - Levitation
D3. Sun Electric - Love 2 Love
E1. LFO - Helen
E2. Dubtribe Sound System - Sunshine's Theme (Sunshine's Remix)
E3. Human Mesh Dance - °Á
F1. Link - Arcadian (Global Communication Remix)
F2. The Arc - Orphic Mysteries
F3. Bedouin Ascent - Joyriding III

Music From Memory is delighted to be turning 50 with a special release: Virtual Dreams: Ambient Explorations In The House & Techno Age, 1993-1997 (3xLP/2xCD). The first in a series of various artist compilations, alongside more in-depth artist focused releases, Virtual Dreams will delve into music produced during the 1990°«s that redefined the boundaries of °∆Ambient°«. This was music that explored the possibilities of Ambient within a new setting, created often by House and Techno producers for a world beyond dance floors but made very much with the pre-clubbing and post-clubbing listener in mind. When House and Techno exploded out of America in the mid 1980s a whole generation was transformed not only musically but also culturally and chemically speaking. Peaking, quite literally, with a second °∆Summer of Love°« in 1988, millions of young people would experience the life-changing ups of a new world but with it of course came the downs; enter the concept of a °∆Chill-out°« room. Whilst early Chill-out rooms lacked a specific sound and were often sound-tracked by music such as reggae and soul, slowly young Techno and House producers themselves became increasingly interested in developing a futuristic °∆Ambient°« soundtrack to a world beyond the thud of the main room. °∆Ambient°« in this new age now though had sharper teeth than in Brian Eno's key text for °∆Music for Airports°«, instead here the sounds were the mode of transport rather than the backdrop. While the melodies were pretty, the soundscapes steered away from the pastoral, often dreaming of outer-space and technology as opening up transformative new dimensions. Much like in the first Summer of Love; the musicians were again exploring psychedelic, mind-altering and transcendental possibilities of music. And also, much as in the first Summer of Love, a psychedelic visual language would accompany the music. Now though the tracks would be accompanied by music videos, often utilising early CGI techniques, and they would look almost entirely to the future: envisioning technology, nature and humanity intertwined in a new Utopia. These were the Virtual Dreams of a new world. From Ambient and early Chill-out classics, to lesser known one-off projects, as well as Ambient deviations by some of House and Techno°«s leading producers, Volume One of Virtual Dreams features tracks by Bedouin Ascent, David Moufang, LA Synthesis, LFO, Marc Hollander, Mark Pritchard & Kirsty Hawkshaw, Richard H. Kirk and more. Compiled by Jamie Tiller with artwork by Vica Pacheco, design by Steele Bonus and liner notes by Piers Harrison, Virtual Dreams: Ambient Explorations in The House & Techno Age, 1993-1997 is released Dec 7th. To celebrate Music From Memory°«s 50th release the first 1000 copies will include a 90 x 60 cm poster and a holographic Virtual Dreams sticker. First 150 orders through the musicfrommemory.com webstore come with an exclusive promotional mix CD, mixed by Tako Reyenga.

Copyright © 2007 STRADA RECORDS All rights reserved.