label:TROJAN (UK)


A1. Im Hurting Inside
A2. Weve Got To Get Ourselves Together
A3. Peaceful Woman
A4. The First Time Ever Saw Your Face
A5. Steppin Out Of Babylon
A6. I See You, My Love
A7. Sweet Brown Sugar
B1. Put A Little Love in Your Heart
B2. Survival (Is The Game)
B3. Pied Piper
B4. Feel Like Jumping
B5. Play Me
B6. Tell Me Now
B7. Your Love
C1. Dreamland
C2. Sweet Bitter Love
C3. Melody Life
C4. I Dont Care
C5. Mark My Word
C6. I Just Dont Want To Be Alone
C7. Truly
D1. To Be Young Gifted And Black
D2. Working To The Top (My Ambition)
D3. But I Do
D4. Sugar Wooga Man
D5. Theres No Me Without You
D6. Dont Ever Leave
D7. You Are Mine

Widely lauded as the greatest female singer in the history of Jamaican music, Griffiths emerged onto the Jamaican music scene during the late 60s. She quickly made her mark with a series of popular singles during that period, building up to eventual international fame in the early 70s, side by side with her long-term friend and regular collaborator, Bob Andy. It was Andy and Griffith's uplifting reggae remake of Nina Simone's inspiring song, '(To Be) Young, Gifted & Black' (featured on the second LP) that really cemented Griffiths' position on the world stage. With a long list of successful hits following this initial emergence into international fame - the best of which can be found on this incredible new two-part LP - this collection is a beautiful homage to one of Jamaica's all time music legends.

Copyright © 2007 STRADA RECORDS All rights reserved.