label:NOLITA (US)


A1 What Are We Gonna Do?
A2 Lets Stay Together
A3 Make it Right
A4 Somebody Tonight
A5 At Any Moment
A6 Be Good 2 Me
B1 Dont Give Up (I Believe in You)
B2 I Need Somebody
B3 Our Love is Real
B4 Midnight Special
B5 Set Me Free (Song for a Person Walking Away)
B6 Alright

LA producer Blake Robin aka LUXXURYs new full-length album finds the bassline obsessed disco addict experimenting with funk, synthpop and even (gasp!) pure instrumentals. Increasingly in my most recent singles Ive been treating vocals like instruments says Robin, backgrounding and balancing them as sonic elements instead of centerpieces, so the listener gets lost in the groove. And indeed the star of these 11 songs is undoubtedly the 11 stellar basslines that ground the swirling synths and melodies as vocal fragments coolly dip in and out of the mix along. Highlights include: KCRW fave What Are We Gonna Do?; the slap bass workout Somebody Tonight; the contemplative ơAt Any Moment (playlisted by Purple Disco Machine) and its sister track, the title track Alright; while playful disco-house burner Lets Stay Together blends house and jazz funk rhythms with his trademark dusty basslines. The album was 100% created by Robin, who wrote, performed, recorded and mixed all 11 songs, and even created the artwork. The 11 songs on LUXXURYs album are all infectiously rhythmically-oriented while exploring new disco direction


Copyright © 2007 STRADA RECORDS All rights reserved.