label:12TH ISLE (UK)

[[ coming soon ! price TBA ]]

A1. Desire As Love
A2. Disco Veduno
A3. Maternal
B1.The Turkish Bath
B2 Smile Again
B3. Future Basin
C1. Disco Bwaba
C2 .Blue Skin Dancer
D1. Abstraction
D2. The Remainder Of Abstraction
D3..Beneath The Statue
D5. The Most Peculiar Acquisition Of The Insects
D6 .Letter To Mother

ISLE011 is a collection of cassette recordings made in Athens by Christos Chondropoulos over the last five years. Coming from an avant-garde percussion background, Christos calls upon themes of ancient Greek folklore and musical tradition through a futurist lens depicting robotic societies in post-human harmony. He constructs worlds reminiscent of Marcello Giombini’s Mondial Folk series or Umiliani’s exoticised Omicron outings. By looking to the future rather than the far-off past, he builds upon these early instances of technologically charged cultural geography and presents an authentically Greek reading of a parallel Athenian basin. Where his last work for 12th Isle explored once-forbidden tunings and unplaceable tonalities, these recordings further expand on the artist’s simultaneous concern for heritage and imaginary projection. Across the final Side D, Chondropoulos explores themes of maternal love present across the album by working with local singer Sofia Sarri to record six piercing, beautiful acapella phrases.

Copyright © 2007 STRADA RECORDS All rights reserved.