Athens of the North


label:JAZZMAN (UK)


01: Time Piece 1 (Harpsichord Bugalu) 05:23
02: Dark Is the Sun, Pt. 1 (Main Theme) 04:33
03: Dark Is the Sun, Pt. 2 (Interlude) 01:36
04: Hello Old Friend 04:37
05: Dark Is the Sun, Pt. 3 (Reprise) 01:11
06: Dark Is the Sun, Pt. 4 (Harpsichord Waltz) 04:30
07: Yeah You Are 01:54
08: Uncle Bessie 04:13
09: Bright Is the Sun 05:12
10: Time Piece 2 (Epilogue) 04:18

Recorded in Sweden, 'Dark is the Sun' is a concept album based on themes and variations by British pianist/composer/arranger Greg Foat, who has created an intriguing blend of non-contemporary jazz sounds with classic scoring techniques. An exotic array of unorthodox instrumentation was utilized, including harpsichord, tubular bells and a 15 piece choir. With musical reference and influence from such luminaries as Bruno Nicolai, Michel Legrand and Serge Gainsbourg as well as a firm nod towards UK jazzmen Michael Garrick, Keith Mansfield and Alan Hawkshaw, the result is highly-listenable, enduring and fulfilling for those who like real music played with real instruments. *** SPECIAL 10th ANNIVERSARY EDITION with gatefold sleeve *** 180g repress of this incredible album that continues to be in demand 10 years on *** Special edition with tip-on gatefold sleeve including archive pics & new liners *** Download card included

Sold Out

Copyright © 2007 STRADA RECORDS All rights reserved.